top of page
  • Writer's pictureSummer Culver

Five of My Favorite Hymns




I love hymns.


They are filled with comforting truths despite painful suffering while boldly proclaiming His faithfulness and steadfast love, and as J.C. Ryle said, "Good hymns are an immense blessing to the Church. They train people for heaven, where praise is one of the principal occupations." 


I have compiled a short list of some favorite hymns of mine that I hope you enjoy and will soak up the incredible words of truth and beauty found in such old, but precious songs.




1. Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing


This beautiful hymn written by 22-year-old Robert Robinson in 1758 still holds incredible reassurance and hope for us today. I especially love the verse below that reminds us of how quickly we can go astray but that we can take comfort in the faithfulness of our never-changing God.


"Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it; prone to leave the God I love: take my heart, oh, take and seal it, with Thy Spirit from above."



2. Blessed Assurance


For those who struggle with doubting God's faithfulness and love, this hymn is a great consolation. The meaning and richness of this hymn became only more so to me when I learned the songwriter, Fanny Crosby, was blind nearly her entire life, yet still sang of visions of rapture and wrote more than 8,000 hymns!


"Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine! O what a foretaste of glory divine! Heir of salvation, purchase of God. Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood."


3. Great is Thy Faithfulness


What relief we as believers can feel that though everyone and everything around us may change, decay, and fall away, there is one Friend who will never change. His mercies won't run out, and His love will never fail.


"Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not; as Thou hast been Thou forever wilt be."



4. Because He Lives


This one is usually sung around Easter, but one that ought to be sung every day of our lives. Because He rose again, we don't have to fear tomorrow, our future, or even our own death.


"Because He lives, I can face tomorrow, because He lives, all fear is gone; because I know He holds the future, and life is worth the living, just because He lives!"


5. Abide With Me


"Abide With Me" is a slow, yet beautiful hymn filled with comforting words that speak straight to my heart. The verse below and two others since the 19th century are not used much but ring just as true.

"Thou on my head in early youth didst smile; and, though rebellious and perverse meanwhile, thou hast not left me, oft as I left thee, on to the close, O Lord, abide with me."

While these lyrics might seem insulting to some, I have clung to this beautiful truth that though many times I've turned away from His love He has never left me and never will, and He won't leave you either dear friend. Sing these praises to Him, the Rock of Ages, forever faithful, who died and lives for us.


I'd Love to Hear From You!

Thanks for your message, I will be in touch soon!

© 2024 Sweet Summertime. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page